People



Steve McCarroll
Dorothy and Milton Flier Professor of Biomedical Science and Genetics
Department of Genetics, Blavatnik Institute, Harvard Medical School

Director of Genomic Neurobiology
Stanley Center for Psychiatric Research, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

<mccarroll at genetics.med.harvard.edu>

Steve was a Ph.D. student in Cori Bargmann’s lab (genetics and neuroscience in C. elegans) at U.C. San Francisco, then a postdoc in David Altshuler’s lab (human genetics and genomics) at MGH and the Broad Institute.

 

Administrative contact
Michelle Lee <michelle_lee@hms.harvard.edu>


Milena Andzelm

Postdoctoral Fellow

milena.andzelm@childrens.harvard.edu

Milena Andzelm

Postdoctoral Fellow
milena.andzelm@childrens.harvard.edu


Steven Burger

Graduate Student, BBS

burger@g.harvard.edu

Expression regulation in human brain

Steven Burger

Graduate Student, BBS
burger@g.harvard.edu


Heather de Rivera

Scientific Staff

heather_derivera@hms.harvard.edu

Human brain development, cell biology

Heather de Rivera

Scientific Staff
heather_derivera@hms.harvard.edu


Ricardo del Rosario

Sr. Computational Biologist

rcdelros@broadinstitute.org

Marmoset genome assembly

Ricardo del Rosario

Sr. Computational Biologist
rcdelros@broadinstitute.org


Marta Florio

Postdoctoral Fellow

marta_florio@hms.harvard.edu

Human brain development and evolution

Marta Florio

Postdoctoral Fellow
marta_florio@hms.harvard.edu


Edward Gebara

Scientific Staff

edward_gebara@hms.harvard.edu

Edward Gebara

Scientific Staff
edward_gebara@hms.harvard.edu


Giulio Genovese

Sr. Computational Biologist

giulio@broadinstitute.org

Linkage models for human genetics

Giulio Genovese

Sr. Computational Biologist
giulio@broadinstitute.org


Sherif Gerges

Graduate Student

Single-cell genomics of
psychiatric disorders

Sherif Gerges

Graduate Student


Sulagna Ghosh

Computational Biologist

sulagna_ghosh@hms.harvard.edu

Stem cell models

Sulagna Ghosh

Computational Biologist
sulagna_ghosh@hms.harvard.edu


Melissa Goldman

Data Analytics Manager

melissa_goldman@hms.harvard.edu

Single-cell data analysis

Melissa Goldman

Data Analytics Manager
melissa_goldman@hms.harvard.edu


Bob Handsaker

Sr. Principal Software Engineer

Genome structural variation

Bob Handsaker

Sr. Principal Software Engineer


Marina Hogan

Project Manager

mhogan@broadinstitute.org

Marina Hogan

Project Manager
mhogan@broadinstitute.org


Kiku Ichihara

Associate Director

kichihar@broadinstitute.org

Research Strategy & Operations

Kiku Ichihara

Associate Director
kichihar@broadinstitute.org


Nolan Kamitaki

Graduate Student

nkamitaki@gmail.com

Math, genomics, and biology

Nolan Kamitaki

Graduate Student
nkamitaki@gmail.com


Seva Kashin

Sr. Principal Software Engineer

skashin@broadinstitute.org

Single-cell data analysis

Seva Kashin

Sr. Principal Software Engineer
skashin@broadinstitute.org


Yong Hoon Kim

Postdoctoral Fellow

yhkim@bwh.harvard.edu

Functional genomics and
chromatin architecture

Yong Hoon Kim

Postdoctoral Fellow
yhkim@bwh.harvard.edu


Rhea Kohli

Scientific Staff

Rhea_Kohli@hms.harvard.edu

Mechanisms of neurodegeneration
and dysfunction

Rhea Kohli

Scientific Staff
Rhea_Kohli@hms.harvard.edu


Fenna Krienen

Postdoctoral Fellow

fenna_krienen@hms.harvard.edu

Primate brain transcriptomics,
development, evolution

Fenna Krienen

Postdoctoral Fellow
fenna_krienen@hms.harvard.edu


Won-Seok Lee

Postdoctoral Fellow

wlee@broadinstitute.org

Molecular mechanisms of neurodegeneration
and somatic mosaicism

Won-Seok Lee

Postdoctoral Fellow
wlee@broadinstitute.org


Emi Ling

Postdoctoral Fellow

eling@broadinstitute.org

Human genetic variation,
neuronal biology

Emi Ling

Postdoctoral Fellow
eling@broadinstitute.org


Alyssa Lutservitz

Scientific Staff

alyssa_lutservitz@hms.harvard.edu

Single-cell analysis,
primate brain transcriptomics

Alyssa Lutservitz

Scientific Staff
alyssa_lutservitz@hms.harvard.edu


Curtis Mello

Lab Manager

mello@genetics.med.harvard.edu

Lab manager things

Curtis Mello

Lab Manager
mello@genetics.med.harvard.edu


Dan Meyer

Computational Biologist

dmeyer@broadinstitute.org

Human genetic variation

Dan Meyer

Computational Biologist
dmeyer@broadinstitute.org


James Nemesh

Sr. Principal Software Engineer

nemesh@broadinstitute.org

Data Janitor

James Nemesh

Sr. Principal Software Engineer
nemesh@broadinstitute.org


Nora Reed

Scientific Staff

reednoram@gmail.com

Single-cell analysis technology

Nora Reed

Scientific Staff
reednoram@gmail.com


Nicole Rockweiler

Postdoctoral Fellow

nrockwei@broadinstitute.org

Mosaicism

Nicole Rockweiler

Postdoctoral Fellow
nrockwei@broadinstitute.org


Aswin Sekar

Postdoctoral Fellow

aswin@genetics.med.harvard.edu

Single-cell blood mosaicism

Aswin Sekar

Postdoctoral Fellow
aswin@genetics.med.harvard.edu


Khalid Shakir

Principal Software Engineer

kshakir@broadinstitute.org

Single-cell computational analysis

Khalid Shakir

Principal Software Engineer
kshakir@broadinstitute.org


Liv Spina

Scientific Staff

Liv_Spina@hms.harvard.edu

Neural mechanisms of mental illnesses

Liv Spina

Scientific Staff
Liv_Spina@hms.harvard.edu


Marissa Sumathipala

Undergraduate Student

sumathipalam@college.harvard.edu

Single cell technologies,
brain development

Marissa Sumathipala

Undergraduate Student
sumathipalam@college.harvard.edu


Alec Wysoker

Sr. Principal Software Engineer

alecw@broadinstitute.org

Single-cell computational analysis

Alec Wysoker

Sr. Principal Software Engineer
alecw@broadinstitute.org


Alumni


Matthew Baum

Medical Student, Harvard Med

Matthew Baum

Medical Student, Harvard Med


Avery Davis Bell

Post-doc

Avery Davis Bell

Post-doc


Elizabeth Bien

Grad Student at Dartmouth

Elizabeth Bien

Grad Student at Dartmouth


Linda Boettger

Postdoctoral fellow, Stanford University

Linda Boettger

Postdoctoral fellow, Stanford University


Laura Bortolin

Mercy BioAnalytics

Laura Bortolin

Mercy BioAnalytics


Amnon Koren

Assistant Professor, Cornell University

Lab website

Amnon Koren

Assistant Professor, Cornell University


Evan Macosko

Assistant Professor, Broad Institute

Lab website

Evan Macosko

Assistant Professor, Broad Institute


Chris Mullally

MD/PhD at University of Texas, San Antonio

Chris Mullally

MD/PhD at University of Texas, San Antonio


Thomas Mullen

Lab Director and Senior Analyst at the Broad Institute

Thomas Mullen

Lab Director and Senior Analyst at the Broad Institute


Alexander Munoz

Scientific Staff

Alexander Munoz

Scientific Staff


Arpiar Saunders

PI at Vollum Institute

Arpiar Saunders

PI at Vollum Institute


Harsha Sen

Grad Student at Princeton

Harsha Sen

Grad Student at Princeton


Rebecca Shafee

Rebecca Shafee



Christy Smith

Medical school student at NYU

Christy Smith



Karina Smolyar

Graduate student at MIT Bio

Karina Smolyar

Graduate student at MIT Bio


Katherine Tooley

Ph.D. Student in Immunology, Harvard Medical School

Katherine Tooley

Ph.D. Student in Immunology, Harvard Medical School


Christina Usher

Writer for the Multiple Myeloma Center

Christina Usher

Writer for the Multiple Myeloma Center


Vanessa Van Doren

Medical Student, Case Western

Vanessa Van Doren

Medical Student, Case Western


Cassandra Vondrak

Graduate Student, MIT

Cassandra Vondrak

Graduate Student, MIT


Chris Whelan

Computational Biologist, Broad Institute

Chris Whelan

Computational Biologist, Broad Institute